This week I am not giving you an article to read. Instead, I am asking for your opinion as students. The topic is homework.  Please answer the following questions, being honest and thorough in your answers.

1. In all of your classes combined, how much time do you have to spend doing homework on any given day?

2. Does that seem like too much, too little, or the right amount?

3. What is the purpose of homework, in your opinion?

4. Do your teachers assign the same homework to every student in a class, or do they individualize the homework based on the struggles each student is having?

5. Do you get points for "trying" to do your homework or is your homework actually graded for accuracy?

6. Anything else you want to add about homework in general, please feel free to elaborate.
tyler davis
10/22/2012 03:06:53 am

In all my classes combined i put at least a hour and a half into homework. That amount of time seems like the perfect amount. In my opinion homework is to waste the student's time. All my teachers give all students in their class the same assignment. Some of my homework is an effort grade and some is for an actual grade.

Reply
Megan Kidder
10/22/2012 03:13:15 am

In all of my classes depending on the day I spend an hour on my homework. That seems like the right amount because I don’t have a lot of classes that give out homework. The purpose is to learn things on your own and remember things. The teachers give out the same amount of homework to everyone. I get points for trying to do my homework. I think that homework is only necessary when you have a quiz or a test the next day. Other than that I think that we should learn the stuff in class because we get more help then.

Reply
Veronica Klein
10/22/2012 03:19:18 am

Being a homeschooler, the whole issue of "homework" is a bit different. We have assigned lessons in each subject that we read to ourselves which then have questions that we have to answer, either written or orally with the teacher. Usually, unless you take a really long time on something, you can get all your work done by 2:00. I have had homework from college classes, but not an overwhelming amount. I think the purpose of homework is to drill the information into the student's head while it's still fresh in their minds and to familiarize them with new concepts. My teacher (my mom) does vary our work on how easily the material comes to us. It's one of the reasons why homeschooling is great. If someone is having a harder time with a subject, she won't give them as hard of work as opposed to someone who can learn the material easier. It's basically a customizable school. I'm interested in seeing what everyone else thinks as far as homework.

Reply
Corey Robins
10/22/2012 03:28:48 am

In all my classes combined I probably have maybe a half an hour of homework every night, but I rarely do it. I believe that is an okay amount of homework I just hate doing homework. I think that homework is meant for practicing doing what you did in class that day but in the classes that I get homework in the work is just stuff that the teacher didn’t have time to do in class. Most of the time the teacher assigns the same homework to everyone in the class. Most of the teachers give more points for doing the homework rather than if everything is right. I don’t think we should have homework for one because we already have to deal with school for seven hours of the day and for two it causes a lot of kids way too much stress with going to school work and having homework and for seniors applying for college.

Reply
Bo Morgan
10/22/2012 03:31:23 am

1. I will usually spend about thirty minutes to an hour on homework per day.
2. That seems like the right amount.
3. The purpose of homework is to get more practice and help improve a certain skill in the particular class.
4. Homework is given to everybody in the class.
5. Most classes give points for effort, not just accuracy.
6. I wish that teachers gave homework based on individual struggles because then I would rarely have homework or at least have less.

Reply
Dillon Anderson
10/23/2012 02:40:15 am

I personally don't do homework unless i absolutely have to. Due tomorrow = do tomorrow. Math classes usually have the most homework, but the rest of them that i've had haven't been too bad. It is actually useless to give out homework, because there was a study done about students getting higher test scores without homework. So homework makes no sense. People in real life usually dont take their jobs home with them. Do McDonalds cooks take home the grills? Homework is pointless. All students get the same homework, and only half of it is actually graded. The rest is just based on if it's done or not

Reply
Alexis Morgan
10/23/2012 02:55:19 am

1.On any given day I usually don’t have homework. But if I do usually not over an hour.
2.I guess depending on what subjects you take will determine the time you take to do it.
3.I believe the purpose of homework is to help students try and understand the subject better on their own.
4.They assign the same homework in every class whether it’s the same day or the next week.
5.Depending on what the teacher decides, sometimes it can be if you did the homework, credit. You didn’t do the homework, no credit. Or halfway did it, partial credit.
6.I don’t really have anything to add, because the teacher will give us what he believes will help us for the test or for future references.

Reply
Kayla Kalmink
10/23/2012 03:05:12 am

1.On an average day I spend thirty minutes on homework.
2.This is the perfect amount of homework because I am a busy person.
3.The purpose of homework is so you can get better at the work that you are doing and the homework can keep your grade up.
4.They assign the same amount to everyone.
5.Yes you do get points for trying homework, why would you do it if you didn’t get any points.

Reply
Tyler Falls
10/23/2012 07:07:29 am

1. In a average day I spend an hour to an hour and a half.
2. This is a good amount of time for me because of my schedule.
3. The purpose of homework is to learn and get better with a subject.
4. The teachers do decide the same amount of of homework to everyone.
5. Yes you get points for doing homework, I mean it is to help you with your grades

Reply
Steven Wolfe
10/23/2012 10:20:21 pm

1. I spend about and hour to hour and a half.
2. This is fair amount of time for me.
3. The purpose of homework is to learn more about the subject.
4. Some teachers will assigned more work, but most assigned the same work to everyone.
5. Some teachers will give effort grades on homework, but most want it to be accurate.

Reply
Addison Millard
10/24/2012 03:08:25 am

1. In all of your classes combined, how much time do you have to spend doing homework on any given day?
I usually have about an hour of homework every day, if any.

2. Does that seem like too much, too little, or the right amount?
I'd say that it is a little on the small side, but I only have 2 core classes, so it's an appropriate amount.

3. What is the purpose of homework, in your opinion?
I think it is intended to encourage students to learn outside the class room, but I think all it is really for is to finish classwork that does not get done in class.

4. Do your teachers assign the same homework to every student in a class, or do they individualize the homework based on the struggles each student is having?
All students receive the same amount of homework in all of my classes.

5. Do you get points for "trying" to do your homework or is your homework actually graded for accuracy?
Some of my assignments are credit-no credit. Some are actually graded for acuracy.

6. Anything else you want to add about homework in general, please feel free to elaborate.
Homework makes me sad.

Reply
Grace Meade
10/24/2012 03:19:46 am

I usually spend about an hour and a half on homework. The amount doesn't seem too overwelming. Some nights it can be difficult to balance homework with sports though. I believe that homework is a way to refresh your mind with what you learned earlier in the day. It provides extra practice for the students who may need it. The teachers I have give the same amount of homework to all students. The way they grade the homework differs with every teacher. Some give you "credit or no credit" while others grade the whole paper. It depends on the teachers style of grading.

Reply
Jillian Bailey
10/24/2012 03:43:37 am

In all of my classes combined I average about an hour of homework per night, this to me seems pretty reasonable for the 6 classes I have. To me it seems that homework is meant to help students understand what they are learning better. The teachers for the most part give everyone the same homework assignment. Last year I had a teacher who graded on effort and this year I don’t have any that do that so it really depends on the teacher’s style of teaching and what they think is most effective.

Reply
Nate Pewoski
10/25/2012 02:29:18 am

I feel that homework is a waste of time, because if your one of those kids that struggles in a class then homework really doesnt have a point for you. Because if your struggling in the class then you just wont get the homework and just simply not do it. So for me i think home work is a waste of time for students.

Reply
Leah Czinder
10/25/2012 02:34:23 am

1. On average I spend less than an hour every night on homework. I usually don’t get any homework at all but on the rare occasions I do it is very short and simple.
2. I think that it is the right amount since most of my classes are electives and fairly simple. I think that if they were harder classes like I’ve taken in past years there should be more homework.
3. I feel that the purpose of homework is to teach the students even more the lessons that they are learning in class. Since the teacher does not have enough class time to do as many problems as needed for the student to learn, they assign homework to make sure the student knows what they are doing.
4. All of my teachers have assigned the same homework to every student in the class. I have never had a class where the teacher has assigned work on an individual basis.
5. In my math classes most of the assignments were graded for attempting to do it and completing it on time. Then the teacher would go over the assignment and the students were supposed to fix what they did wrong.

Reply
Lennon G
10/26/2012 03:18:49 am

1. I spend 1 hours to 2 hours a day on homework.
2. I think it is to much homwork to do on a daily basis.
3. I think it is to make sure you understand the material.
4. My teachers give the same assignements to all the students.
5. My homework is graded on accuracy.
6. Nothing extra.

Reply
Todd Fox
10/26/2012 03:55:38 am

1. I spend about one hour unless there is a project.
2. It seems good.
3. The purpose of homework is for you to practice doing what was taught in class, on your own.
4. There may be special circumstaces, but it is the same for all students.
5. I am graded for accuracy.

Reply
Jon Wilcox
10/26/2012 03:58:05 am

1. 1In all of your classes combined, how much time do you have to spend doing homework on any given day? At home I spend about 0 minutes doing homework. I usually get it all done during school.
2. 2. Does that seem like too much, too little, or the right amount?
Yes it is too much because there are times when I should bring it home and I don’t.

3. 3What is the purpose of homework, in your opinion?
The purpose of homework is to practice the content and get ready for the test.

4. Do your teachers assign the same homework to every student in a class, or do they individualize the homework based on the struggles each student is having?
They assign the same amount of homework to everyone.

5. Do you get points for "trying" to do your homework or is your homework actually graded for accuracy?
Sometimes you get points for trying the homework, it depends on the teacher.

6. Anything else you want to add about homework in general, please feel free to elaborate.
I think that instead of homework we should do more class work.

Reply

Thanks for posting this info. I just want to let you know that I just check out your site and I find it very interesting and informative. I can't wait to read lots of your posts.

Reply
1/30/2016 01:47:49 am

Do your teachers assign the same homework to every student in a class, or do they individualize the homework based on the struggles each student is having?

Reply
9/20/2016 03:49:57 pm

If you are starting a website soon, then you will want to trust in a web design agency with experience and skill. While many will make promises, fewer deliver. To help you figure out the ones that do, so to avoid any setbacks or disappointments, follow these five tips for hiring a web design agency, and you will be glad that you did.

Reply
9/20/2016 04:03:51 pm

If you are new to the internet marketing age and you are searching for different ways to give your business an edge then web design services is what you need to fulfil your objective. The whole idea behind hiring quality web development services is that a good website is as important as having a inviting retail store.

Reply
2/1/2018 12:54:07 am

A professional web design company is very hard to find because there are just too many web designing companies today. Moreover, the professional ones are too consumed with work to take up additional work. A website is a face of the business;

Reply



Leave a Reply.