http://www.nytimes.com/2012/09/19/nyregion/amid-hazing-at-binghamton-university-cries-for-help.html

Hazing rituals that incorporate some form of physical or emotional abuse are not unique to campus Greek life. Many groups, including athletic teams, military units and high school clubs, use some form of hazing to initiate new members. While 44 states have passed anti-hazing laws and many universities have outlawed hazing, the practice persists. Would you ever go through hazing to be part of a group?

Kayla Martin
10/8/2012 04:12:41 am

I think hazing is harsh. I dont think people should have to put through something like that. If you really want to get into a sorority and your dumb enough to put up with that then whatever but they shouldnt make people do things so harsh to be apart of something. It just isnt right.

Reply
Donavin Taggart
10/8/2012 04:13:17 am

No I would never go through hazing to be part of a group.Because it is useless and to go through hazing just to join a group or team.

Reply
Jacob Kane
10/8/2012 04:14:32 am

I feel that hazing is not a bad thing as long as it does not go to far. If you make them sing a song in front of everybody that is okay, but forced people to run around outside in their boxers? That is too much, they need to add rules at the universities so that if a person is forced to do that stuff, the group needs to be punished.

Reply
Mackenzie Monroe
10/8/2012 04:19:46 am

The whole time I was reading this article I was thinking “there’s no way I would go through this.” There should be traditions in sororities and fraternities, but not violent ones. If you’re selected to be in one of these, you shouldn’t have worked hard to get into it if you were just going to be forced to do things that you don’t want to do. Personally, I would never want to be in a sorority in the first place, they just sound like partying and being with people of the same gender all the time. So all in all, I wouldn’t be in a sorority, especially if I had to go through this.

Reply
Travis Miller
10/8/2012 04:21:12 am

I believe that in no way shape or form should someone ever haze someone just so they can join there group/club. It is completely wrong, and dangerous. And if you have to haze someone so they can get into your group/club then obviously you shouldn’t have that club or group.

Reply
Lucas Johnson
10/8/2012 04:21:57 am

I would never go through hazing to get into a group. A group that requires you to go through such an event is not one I would be a part of. The groups that do this are pretty sketchy, but provide good times for the college kids. So if the group can operate cleanly and not have anyone get injured or killed, and then they are a good group to be a part of. I personally do not like being part of a group that is not professional and that is mostly focused on partying and drinking. I think when I got to college I will stay out of the student life.

Reply
Brad Hall
10/8/2012 04:27:28 am

I would never do something stupid just to be accepted if im in a group its because there my friends not because they made me do something stupid and now im cool because of it. truethfully i think they need to try to stop hazeing all together there isn't realy a point to it.

Reply
Austin Jordan
10/8/2012 04:30:40 am

Being in a sorority or fraternity is a want, not a need. If the “pledges” are fully aware of the danger they are putting their bodies into, it is their choice. However, if these sororities or fraternities are in any way connected to a school, business or government, they should not be tolerated.

Reply
Drew Engle
10/8/2012 11:21:25 am

It depends. If it’s the type of hazing you see in college movies probably not, but then again its college… In high school I would never accept hazing if it was to be a part of a clique or social group because that just seems like kissing someone's rear end in my perspective. The only hazing I've ever experienced was the Freshmen jokes you receive your first year of high school. Other then that I say that hazing depends on how harsh you haze and what is the hazing for.

Reply
Caleb Engle
10/9/2012 03:58:08 am

I think Hazing is wrong and bad. You should not have to do things to be a part of a “group”, especially if those things could possibly hurt you. Hazing should be illegal in all states and colleges.

Reply
amanda loughry
10/9/2012 04:20:37 am

Hazing is just flat out stupid. I would never do it to belong in a group. Think about what you are doing to yourself just to be part of a group that you honestly aren't accepted by, they just want a laugh of you doing stupid things.

Reply
Raven Gaiski
10/9/2012 04:25:38 am

I would never go through a hazing just to be part of a group. If they want you to be hazed to be in a certain group, that group isn't worth being in. Why would anyone want to do that to their bodies? That is horrible. It can cause scars and cause you to be scared of people for the rest of your life if you have ever been hazed. No group that you have to be hazed to be welcomed into, is worth being a part of.

Reply
Richelle Bell
10/9/2012 04:40:02 am

Hazing is not a good thing. All of the stuff I hear about it is downright stupid. Who would put up with that stuff just to get into a frat and be like everyone else? My brother is in collage and I just hope he stays away from things like that.

Reply
Connor Hays
10/10/2012 04:12:15 am

Hazing is really just childish, if you want to be part of a frat it should be something constructive not just partying and drinking. The whole idea behind hazing is usually just guys or girls with inferiority complexes who need to cause other people pain to make themselves feel better about themselves.

Reply
Ryan Carlson
10/11/2012 04:20:47 am

Not only is hazing violent and disgusting, it's very immature. In this article it isn't a depiction of public school bullying however, prestige college’s fraternity’s acting worse than a pack of crazed gorillas. Now I realize that college life involves having great amounts of fun activities but when it comes to 'rituals' of making new students do cruel and unusual activities to be treated as an equal it just doesn't add up to me.

Reply
John Brunsink
10/11/2012 04:44:39 am

Hazing may be a tradition in most colleges but it’s wrong. I don’t see why anyone would put themselves through that just to fit in. It’s illegal in most states for a reason and it needs to stop soon.

Reply
Ryker Cowles
10/12/2012 04:16:24 am

Hazing in my opinion is "bad" but there sould be a definitive point as to how far hazing can go before it becomes illegal and nothing is never to important to risk your life or others just to be in a "frat" group...

Reply
Stephen Bowles
10/12/2012 04:20:06 am

I see little purpose to joining a group to begin with, and absolutely no reason to subject myself to hazing to join them.

Reply
Lane Merrill
11/16/2012 03:43:47 am

i personaly like to challenge myself and wouldnt mind hazing to become a member of something. free masons use hazing in initiation and most masons are very happy with their decision. its not really that bad in my oppinion. and for it to be outlawed is rediculous, you have a choice, if you dont like the initiation then you dont have to join that group.

Reply



Leave a Reply.