Lance Armstrong has recently admitted to using banned substances, on the Oprah Winfrey Network. What is your take on doping in the professional sports world? Support your answer with examples from the article. http://nbcsports.msnbc.com/id/50497973/ns/sports-cycling/

Nick Gaiski
1/28/2013 10:18:17 pm

According to I, Dragon 3000, doping is always the solution. I guess what doesn't kill you, makes you stronger. Psych! Does everyone else use dope to gooder-ize themself? If so, then why can't we. Other than the stuggle for testosterone, there isn't a downside. That's a broad statement actually, males that struggle for testosterone get depressed, and could possibly Kurt-Cobain themself. And testosterone makes you angry, and bitter. So after all that confusing mumbo-jumbo, no it shouldn't be allowed.

Reply
Caleb Engle
1/29/2013 10:34:15 pm

I agree dude.

Reply
Stephen Bowles
1/28/2013 10:22:55 pm

Simply put, the doping should be stopped. It is not fair to those who have trained for the competitions legitimately and are competing with theirn own skill and strength to be forced to face someone who is using chemicals to enhance themselves beyond what would be attained normally. Doping makes winning the entire point of the competition rather than the work and character required to achieve it. It isn't fair to the opponents, and it isn't fair to the doper.

Reply
tyler davis
1/28/2013 10:31:49 pm

I think doping in sports is stupid. When the steroids stop working and you have flabby skin what do you do then. Athletes that use them often times don't think about the consequences that they will face later down the road. They just think, "This stuff is going to make me stronger and faster."

Reply
Chris Hopkins
1/28/2013 10:41:40 pm

I think that Armstrong shouldn’t have lost his titles. Sure he was put at a better advantage then the rest of the people, but he should keep them as a reminder of his mistakes. I think that since humans, have a conscience, he will feel guilty about what he did. I think that he already regrets taking drugs and wishes he could do it legitimately.

Reply
Veronica Klein
1/28/2013 10:47:11 pm

I think no one should be using drugs in sports. Not only will it wreck your life, like in Lance Armstrong's example, it can change the outcome of the race. What is the point of racing, or participating in any sports, for that matter, if everyone dopes? If whoever has the best drugs or the most money to buy drugs is going to win, what's the point of competition? I think it's much better to stay away from all of that. Once you are caught doping, no one can trust you anymore and you lose your respect.

Reply
Corey Robins
1/28/2013 10:47:36 pm

I feel that if someone wants to use performance enhancing drugs that they should be able to because it’s a free country but morally I would not because that doesn’t show that you have a true love for the sport and only that you want to be the best but then again you really aren’t the best because it’s really not you performing it’s the drugs.

Reply
Kayla Kalmink
1/29/2013 03:26:50 am

Doping is wrong. It should be banned and they should have blood test before they do any sporting activity. Lance said that he didn’t care about the band. The doping is not okay because you are putting something in your body that is helping you win when you should be doing it by yourself.

Reply
Lucas Johnson
1/29/2013 03:35:12 am

The news always makes a big deal of these types of stories. Mostly to attract more viewers; they bring on some self-important to talk down the fallen person. They yell about his dishonesty, they complain about the “damage” they have done. Basically making them look worthless, tearing them apart limb by limb. A great person is still great if they fall. Doping is just not the worth the media attention it brings.

Reply
lane merrill
1/29/2013 10:15:19 pm

I think that using performance enhancing drugs to get ahead in sports is just another way of showing people how lazy you are that you cant work up to things on your own and you need drugs to do it for you. No, they hould not be allowed. It's the same as rearranging the peices on a chess board when your opponent isnt looking. CHEATING

Reply
Leah Czinder
1/29/2013 10:30:58 pm

I think that people should not be allowed to us drugs while in competitve sports. It gives them an unfair advantage over the rest of the competers. I understand that the pressure to succeed is very high but if you want to participate in those activitities you need to be able to remain strong and do the right thing. Otherwise you should not compete.

Reply
Caleb Engle
1/29/2013 10:50:38 pm

I believe that doping should be allowed. This is a free country, and if people want to drug themselves to make themselves stronger then I say go ahead. Americans are the best, and to remain the best we need enhancement drugs! Lance Armstrong is an idol who won seven Tour de Frances. Would this be possible without his drugs? I think not, and for that reason alone is why everyone should dope to get better at their sports. In the article Armstrong stated to Oprah "win at all costs" mentality and "arrogance" was behind his cheating. But can we call that cheating, or being a winner? I’ll leave that up for you to decide. MERICA!

Reply
Jon Wilcox
1/30/2013 10:02:30 pm

correct spelling: 'merica

Reply
Addison Millard
1/29/2013 10:54:47 pm

I feel we, as Americans, deserve the best atheletes science can give us. At the professional level of most sports, the players are really just entertainers. People pay hundreds of dollars to see their favorite athlete, so why shouldn't that athlete be juiced to the max?

Reply
Katy Wallace
1/30/2013 10:05:25 pm

I don’t think it is right for athlete’s to dope themselves up to be better. If you really wanted to be that good, you would practice harder to improve yourself, and not do it the lazy way. It’s not fair to the other players who actually work hard at what they do.

Reply
Miguel Arjona
1/30/2013 10:06:57 pm

Doping is so dumb. Any athlete that tries to make themselves “better” by doping is an idiot. That’s not the right way to be good at a sport. The right way is to work hard at what you want to do and make it so that the skill that your being so good at is all naturally you. I wouldn’t be able to look at myself in the mirror and know that I’m so good at football because I dope. If I knew it was all me , because of my hard work and effort then I could be proud of myself

Reply
Miguel Arjona
1/30/2013 10:10:12 pm

Armstrong says that he deserves getting his titles stripped from him. He says that because he knows it was wrong and he doesn’t want to live a lie anymore of why he was so good at what he did.

Reply
Jon wilcox
1/30/2013 10:10:22 pm

I think that doping should be stopped. All these professional athletes shouldn’t need drugs to make themselves better if they are professionals. Their solution should be hard work, but if they do choose drugs then they do deserve whatever the punishment is. And like Armstrong they should be stripped of their titles because they didn’t win, doping did.

Reply
Steven Wolfe
1/30/2013 10:11:11 pm

I think that doping should not be allowed because it's an unfair advantage to the people who don't use enhancements. I think if you train most of your life for a particular sport such as cycling and you know your good because you won major titles, why use enhancements? I don't think stripping Lance Armstrong of his titles is necessary, yes he did dope but I don’t think that he did it for all of his races just ones before 2005 so stripping him of those medals past that year is wrong.

Reply
Bo Morgan
1/30/2013 10:16:42 pm

I think that doping on a professional level is unprofessional and needs to be stopped. The people doping cheats the system but also cheats other athletes that have not been doping and worked hard to get to that point. The “win at all costs” mentality by Lance Armstrong and his team made doping okay to them as long as they won. More tests should be taken to catch people before they can win seven, Tour de France’s while doping.

Reply
Brad Hall
1/30/2013 10:17:36 pm

I think that dopeing in sports makes it less fun. Sure if you can get first place in a huge bike race 7 times in a row, but is it you or is it the drugs your takeing to help you win. Truethfully i believe that if you use performance enhancing drugs its not realy something you acomplished it is something the drugs acomplished.

Reply
Amber Snore
1/31/2013 10:10:37 pm

How could you possibly support using substances to improve performance? Isn't that technically cheating? Without the drugs, you're terrible but with you’re 10X better than you were before. Instead of working towards what you want to achieve you choose to take the shortcut. Improvement is what makes an athlete talented and the only way to get better is to practice. There’s no shortcut to success, it's all dependent on how hard you're willing to work, not on how many drugs you can take to "help" you.

Reply
Austin Jordan
1/31/2013 10:14:51 pm

I don’t think that athletes that use PED’s should be discriminated against but rather have their own class in competitions so that they don’t “overpower” non “doping” athletes and have a stiffer competition. My reasoning is that I believe actors and actresses also use PED’s, such as Botox, to enhance their performance but face (lol Botox) no repercussions. I just basically believe that if its legal for some people (Bob Marley, Charlie Sheen, anyone in Hollywood), it should be for everyone and they shouldn’t be given special “above the law” privileges because they are famous.

Reply
John Brunsink
1/31/2013 10:45:43 pm

Well first I would like to state my opinion that I don’t understand professional sports. This may just because I don’t like sports in general but honestly I believe that sports are something you should do for the joy of it and that you shouldn’t be able to get paid for your participation in them. Now on to the topic at hand, I believe that doping in said sports is even worse than being paid for them. If your body isn’t trained enough to participate in the sport then don’t do it. Obviously they are not healthy for you or they wouldn’t be banned.

Reply
Tyler Falls
1/31/2013 10:49:31 pm

I think that Armstrong should not lose his titles because of his better advantage. I think this because he might have had a better advantage but that was in the past. In America we say the past is the past. But it’s not always true. Because were still arresting people and treating them different because of their past. I think that his titles shouldn’t be taken from him. He should just be banned from racing in anymore bike races.

Reply
Todd Fox
1/31/2013 10:49:39 pm

Doping in sports should not be allowed for many reasons. It is not fair between athletes who do and those who don't. Also they are not healthy to use and side effects can occur. Say you win an event; you won’t have as much enthusiasm knowing that you had an unfair advantage. For athletes who have been found using PEDs, Lance Armstrong for example, it has been a very embarrassing event and the consequences prevailed.

Reply
Nick Gaiski
1/31/2013 11:02:50 pm

Apparently I didn't make my last comment clear enough. I DO NOT THINK DOPING SHOULD BE ALLOWED. There.. It obviously has mental side-effects that can be devastating. So it's obviously not okay.

Reply
Mrs. George
2/1/2013 12:17:27 am

It isn't that you didn't make your answer clear. It is your reasoning that seemingly ridiculed the question that I didn't appreciate. And I see that you didn't change that in your response.

Reply
Nick Gaiski
2/3/2013 09:26:59 pm

I didn't ridicule it in that last response. I wrote my side of the story, and put my reasoning. By the way, I am digging the new design on this, or atleast on this computer. Just throwing that out there.




Leave a Reply.