This week I am not giving you an article to read. Instead, I am asking for your opinion as students. The topic is homework.  Please answer the following questions, being honest and thorough in your answers.

1. In all of your classes combined, how much time do you have to spend doing homework on any given day?

2. Does that seem like too much, too little, or the right amount?

3. What is the purpose of homework, in your opinion?

4. Do your teachers assign the same homework to every student in a class, or do they individualize the homework based on the struggles each student is having?

5. Do you get points for "trying" to do your homework or is your homework actually graded for accuracy?

6. Anything else you want to add about homework in general, please feel free to elaborate.
Lucas Johnson
10/22/2012 04:14:01 am

1. I have to about one to two hours a day, some days I have to about three or four hours.
2. I personally am ok with this amount. I have to do more because of band and I have chosen that class. I also have chosen to take honors, which means the class has more homework.
3. To make sure you understand the given information.
4. They assign the same to everyone.
5. It is actually graded; you get some points if you do it.
6. Every teacher should have a website available in order to figure out what the homework is.

Reply
Brad Hall
10/22/2012 04:14:21 am

1. probably 10 to 30 minutes depending what the homework is. if it's a project it might take me up to an hour mabye.
2.It is an ok amount.
3.I think homeworks purpose is to alow us to not just learn at school but also get a better understanding on the subject at home.
4.My teachers assign the same amount of homework to everyone.
5.Most of my classes do alittle of both sometimes its credit no credit or its how many yoou got right on it.
6.I would like to say that i like the classes that give you all the work at the begining of the week and have you turn it all in at the end of the week it alows me to work on what i want to get done first and finish the rest at my own pace.

Reply
Ryan Carlson
10/22/2012 04:14:27 am

1. On an average school night I imagine I have about 2 to 3 hours of homework immediately after my sport practices. That is also including tests and quizzes.
2. Too me that average night seems an alright amount. Luckily I'm not staying up all night to do it all either.
3. The purpose of homework is too constantly practice lessons and objectives so a student can be fully prepared for tests.
4. Teachers always give out equal homework amount to every student in that class.
5. In certain classes (Math, Chemistry, etc.) my homework is graded for accuracy.
6. Homework I feel may seem like a burden but it really helps in the long run for a student. Teachers however will give large amounts that may not be needed which may be unfair to certain students.

Reply
Jacob Kane
10/22/2012 04:18:12 am

1. Not Much 30-45 minutes
2. I could do with any at all.
3. To help the kids apply what they learned that day
4. Mostly assign the same to everybody, if your parent comes in and ask' for less the teacher will make arrangements.
5. Depending on what the homework is, if is simple then it may be judged by just if you did it.
6. Don't give it to us.

Reply
Ryker Cowles
10/22/2012 04:26:21 am

1. 5-6+hrs (we do have jobs and so far not a whole lot of time for them).
2. To much.
3. For those who are only booksmart but have no memery recall, as i am mostly memery recall but high up on being booksmart so don't need the extra training (im getting B at the lowest on unit test with out doing the homework (sometimes not even reading half the book, well becuase thats what i do on free time, scavenge the internet...)
4. Mostly the same to every student.
5. depends on teacher, assignment, and overall scores across the board.
6. The homework i get is more than enough to waste one's time, becuase time is money it's the way of todays world, that is untill all the oil is used up, well then thats a diffrent story that is not a nice sight.

Reply
Ryker Cowles
10/22/2012 04:28:01 am

Do note i am extreamly tired right now ~_~

Reply
Stephen Bowles
10/22/2012 04:35:17 am

In pre-calc and accounting, I usually have enough time to do my homework, but there are times when I need more time. I have no problem with the amount of work that I get, but it becomes difficult to catch up if I am behind due to illness or other unforseen factors, and can take a large amount of time to catch up.
Homework's purpose is to give the students a chance to practice what was explained in class so that the concepts are more deeply ingrained in each one's mind.
My teachers assign the same amount for every student.
In pre-calc the homework is credit/no-credit, but in my other classes it is based on accuracy.
No other comments.

Reply
Raven Gaiski
10/22/2012 04:51:33 am

1. In all my classes combined I only spend maybe 45 minutes to an hour a day doing homework.
2. This, to me, sounds like just the right amount. Its not too much, and not too little either.
3. The purpose of homework, in my opinion, is to help us practice what we are doing to get it right.
4. The teachers assign the same homework to everyone in the class, not based upon the students' struggles.
5. I get points for putting an effort forth on trying to do my homework. We go over it in class, and turn it in for points for giving an effort on it.
6. I don't enjoy the massive amounts of math homework we get assigned, that are usually all of the same type. After a few problems I get how to do the problems, and therefore I don't think I should have to do 10 more of that type.

Reply
Travis Miller
10/22/2012 04:59:29 am

1) In all of my classes i spend about 30-45 minutes on homework each night.
2) To me that is just about right. I wouldn't like much more than that.
3) The purpose of homework to me is to practice what you learned during the day. And as kind of a checkpoint for the test.
4) In my classes the teacher gives every student the same ammount of homework.
5) It varies in my classes. Some days its effort other days its graded accurately.
6) I like when a teacher gives you the homework and does a couple problems and then sets you on your way. I dont like when teacehrs have to do more than 2 problems before you can work.

Reply
Austin Jordan
10/23/2012 04:32:08 am

1. In all of your classes combined, how much time do you have to spend doing homework on any given day?
I have no homework.

2. Does that seem like too much, too little, or the right amount?
It seems just right.

3. What is the purpose of homework, in your opinion?
To challenge the student to solve problems on their own with (close) to no assistance.

4. Do your teachers assign the same homework to every student in a class, or do they individualize the homework based on the struggles each student is having?
I don’t know. But it should be the same for everyone in the same hour, not necessarily the whole class.

5. Do you get points for "trying" to do your homework or is your homework actually graded for accuracy?
If the best the student can do is try, then yes.

6. Anything else you want to add about homework in general, please feel free to elaborate.
I believe that homework should be an option to the student. If a student wants to get ahead, let them. It will only help them. And if the teacher needs to help, they should. They only learn from working ahead. But if a student is not very concerned with being ahead and wants to stay at the teachers pace, let them. Homework should only be MANDATORY for people that don’t follow along in the class. And if those students miss the homework assignment, give a better punishment not based on grades.

Reply
Mackenzie Monroe
10/23/2012 04:41:21 am

1. I spend about 1-1.5 hours doing homework every day.
2. I think this seems like just the right amount because we as students should be spending time practicing outside of school also.
3. I think that the purpose of homework is to practice the things learned in the classroom.
4. All of my teachers assign the same homework to all of the students in the class.
5. Mostly the homework is graded by completeness and then somewhat by accuracy.
6. I like that teachers do the problems with us and then give us another assignment. Giving students homework without explaining really frustrates me.

Reply
John Brunsink
10/23/2012 04:47:37 am

1. Honestly, I have been slacking and I don’t do my homework often. When I do it though, I spend one to two hours depending on the homework.
2. I think this amount of homework is fine, because even without doing it at home I still get it done.
3. The purpose of homework is to check the progress of the student and make sure they are actually learning what the teacher is teaching.
4. All of my teachers give out homework to the entire class, but in some cases I see why it would be useful to give other students special homework or more homework depending on how they are doing in the class.
5. It seems that in most classes I get points for trying to do the homework instead of just for accuracy, but accuracy is still needed to make sure you are doing it correctly.
6. In general I think that homework is good to give to students but shouldn’t be a major factor in the grading, because it’s supposed to be practice and tests should just be worth more.

Reply
Drew Engle
10/23/2012 06:57:27 am

1. 30 minutes to an hour if I'm working hard with no distractions. Usually with distractions my homework can take up to 2 to 3 hours. (not including studying.
2. It seems like the right amount because so far it hasn't been conflicting with the amount of hours I usually sleep at night.
3. I don't see any purpose in it. I would rather spend 30 minutes on subjects of my choice to study on then 30 minutes of unfinished worksheets that I already understand the concept of.
4. My teachers assigns the same homework to the whole class.
5. I get points on trying my homework in all of my classes except math.
6. I think that homework should be worth more credit because if i spend an hour after school on a math assignment i would want it to be equal to a quiz. This way kids actually do there homework unlike not wanting to do the last 10 questions you didn't finish after class because it is only worth 5 points.

Reply
Caleb Engle
10/23/2012 07:15:35 am

1. I spend about 30 minutes to an hour every night, and some nights (about two a week) I have no homework at all.
2. To me it seems like just the right amount. I don’t like homework, but I don’t mind doing it.
3. I believe that the purpose of homework is to jog our memory about what we learned in school that day, so we don’t just go home and forget everything.
4. All of my teachers give my classmates the same amount of homework unless someone is behind and they have to do late work.
5. In my chemistry class I get points for just doing my homework, which I like because chemistry is pretty hard for me. In math class the teacher grades on right and wrong, and I don’t mind that because math is pretty easy.
6. Personally I don’t think we should have homework because we already spend 8 hours in school. Giving us homework after working for 8 hours is to much.

Reply
Connor Hays
10/24/2012 04:14:48 am

1. I usually spend about an hour to tops 3 hours on homework if Im busy.
2. I think it is an alright amount just as long as one of my classes is'nt hindering my other work by bogging me down with a lot of homework.
3. Homework I think is assigned to keep our minds at least somewhat focused on the subject of school even when we are not there.
4. all the same amount to my knowledge.
5. I think maybe 1 or 2 of my classes are graded on trying while all my other classes are accuracy.
6. as long as I can understand the work and it's not a all night type of thing.

Reply
Kayla Martin
10/24/2012 04:26:43 am

1. I usually spend about a half hour on homework or studying when I get it.
2. Well being i usually dont get alot of homework I feel like its an alright amount.
3. I think the purpose of homework is to keep the brain working even after school is out. To get you to be able to do the assignment on your own.
4. We usually get the same assignment. I guess it depends on who finishes it in class.
5. I believe that one or two of my classes are graded on the fact you tried.
6. ALL teachers should have some type of way to tell kids what their homework is and what the days assignment was. Two of my past teachers have an account on a social media website (Twitter,Facebook, ect) and that helped alot of students that were sick get their assignments.

Reply
Amanda Loughry
10/24/2012 05:00:21 am

1. In all of your classes combined, how much time do you have to spend doing homework on any given day?
-I spend zero amount of time on homework in a given day.

2. Does that seem like too much, too little, or the right amount?
-In a way it seems like too little because normally when you think of school, homework comes to mind. But I am a senior and I only have two 'regular' classes that I'm taking and the rest are electives.

3. What is the purpose of homework, in your opinion?
-In my opinion, the purpose of homework is to exercise and refresh your brain on what you learned that day and what you may learn the next day in class. Also, it could be used for the teacher to see how far along each student is.

4. Do your teachers assign the same homework to every student in a class, or do they individualize the homework based on the struggles each student is having?
-My teachers do not give us homework. The only time we have homework is if we don't finish up our classwork.

5. Do you get points for "trying" to do your homework or is your homework actually graded for accuracy?
-I don't have homework. But our classwork is graded for accuracy.

6. Anything else you want to add about homework in general, please feel free to elaborate.
-I love not having homework :)

Reply
Donavin Taggart
10/26/2012 04:08:13 am

1 in all classes about an hour
2 it seems like its a little tomuch
3 it is useless
4 they assign the same work to every one
5 it is graded
6 there is nothing more that i would add

Reply
Lane Merrill
11/16/2012 03:38:36 am

1. total time spent on homework can vary from day to day depending on how much homework is assigned. avg-30-45 min.
2. i dont think that many students would request more homework so "too little" is out of the question. sometimes geometry can get a little much with some assignments of over 60 problems.
3. well homework in my oppinion is just a way to get more work in than can get done in the hour alloted in class. it can also be used to review the lesson that was discussed in class. just a little extra practice.
4. yes all my teachers assign the same amount of homework to all students. i have never had a teacher that assigned more homework to some people than others. most teachers are very fair in their homework distribution.
5. some classes give participation grades instead of grading for accuracy while others grade for accuracy so a little of both, grading for accuracy is more effective in learning the subject because you know what problems you got wrong.
6. i dont think anybody really enjoys doing taking school home with them (i know i dont) i think school work should be done at school and let the time at home be spent doing whatever you want to do instead of doing homework.

Reply



Leave a Reply.