Read the article found at the link below. After reading, please respond with a well-written paragraph that states your position on the idea and backs your position up with facts.  Remember, you are being graded on both grammar and content.
http://www.newser.com/story/153956/iphone-5-is-incremental-update-worth-it.html
amanda loughry
9/17/2012 04:27:45 am

I personally would only buy the new iPhone if I was loaded with money and then I would still be cautious. IPhones break so easily already, and the iPhone 5 is now thinner and lighter....so how fast will it break or crack this time? I don't really care about all the super new technology about cell phones because in 6 months, there's going to be another new iPhone, so what is the big deal about it? People just want to show it off and say "hey look at me, I got this cool, new, way too expensive phone that will probably put me or my parents in debt, and in 6 months I will get another new one." I have never owned an iPhone, but if I were to get one I would probably just get the iPhone 4 or iPhone 4s because it’s a little bit older, which makes it cheaper...and why do I need all of this technology on one device because after all, I’m just a teenager, not a busy business woman living in a high pace place like NYC.

Reply
Brad Hall
9/17/2012 04:28:22 am

I dont think theres anything to big and new about the Iphone 5 the only true reason id get it would be the faster browser speed but i dont realy web browse on my fone to much any ways. Plus if u need to buy all new chargers and and addapters for every thing its not realy worth it.

Reply
Mackenzie Monroe
9/17/2012 04:32:40 am

I don’t think that the iPhone 5 is worth all the hype about it. It’s the fifth phone in the series and every time they come out with a new one it only has a few minor changes. I think that if they are going to come out with new phones every year to year and a half that they should make big changes to the phone. Maybe create a new design of the phone so it looks completely different, or change the layout of the screen. Sure, the phone is thinner and lighter but are those only MAJOR changes? Also, I see a lot of iPhone screens that are cracked just from one drop, so if the phone is thinner and lighter is it even more breakable?

Reply
Nick Gaiski
9/17/2012 04:54:58 am

This phone has massive improvements. Read my post, you will see what I mean. And iPhones are made out of military grade helicopter glass now.

Reply
Raven Gaiski
9/17/2012 04:39:30 am

I personally think the new iPhone 5 update isn't worth it. If you already had an iPhone or iPod, and you get the iPhone 5, you would have to buy all new adapters, and to me that doesn't make sense. The products are all made by the same company, and should all connect to things the same way(USB port). I don't think it is worth it because I personally don't think I need all the extra features on my phone, like the panoramic sweep mode. The phone is smaller and lighter, and more expensive, and I would be more apt to break it.

Reply
Makenzie Young
9/17/2012 04:40:22 am

I think that the new I phone is really cool. But at the same time I do believe that it is a big waste of money. If I were a millionaire and had a lot of money to waste on whatever I wanted I might consider buying the new I phone but there aren’t very many dramatic changes that have been made to the new device. I would think about investing in a new I phone that had holograms or something, but I believe that this is not worth the money just so you can surf the web faster. I also believe that people are too impatient anyway, so a slow surfing web could be a good thing for America. I could understand how caring a lighter phone would be nice, because then you wouldn’t have your huge phone sticking out of your pocket. But I just don’t believe that it is worth it.

Reply
Nick Gaiski
9/17/2012 04:52:59 am

The new iPhone 5 has a ton of new specs contrary to popular belief. This phone can do so much more, not to mention the bigger, brighter, retina, panoramic display. The iPhone 5 puts all the past phones to shame with the A6 processor chip, and the fact that it is the first 4g lte capable iPhone. And this is handy considering I have a band to manage on social sites like Twitter and Facebook (Which are now integrated into the iOS 6 platform). this phone is definately worth it, you get a huge bang for your buck, no doubt about that.

Reply
Jacob Kane
9/17/2012 04:57:20 am

I feel that the new iphone is just a way for apple to squeeze even more money out of people. The reason that I say that is because it really has no huge leaps and bounds improvements over the older one, but since it has apples logo on it, it is going to make a lot of money and people will shell out 29 dollars to buy all new cords. I say keep your old one.

Reply
Ryker Cowles
9/17/2012 06:28:58 am

I would never get a Iphone and my reason #1 is they can't load anything that runs off of flash and reason #2 they are easy the track, hack, and what deals in between and this story took place not to long ago during march so think again about your so cut the "Apple is unbelievably awesome" crap because it isn't seems how it's easy to do everything to it (hack, trace, and use the camera to spy on people, etc) and you can't even view/use flash based websites, now that's what i call a ripoff (more of the story in the read more section)...

A hacktivist group associated with Anonymous claims it has lifted over 12 million Apple Unique Device Identifiers (UDIDs) from an FBI computer and released 1 million of them as an archive. The leaked data includes names, phone numbers and addresses.
“During the second week of March 2012, a Dell Vostro notebook, used by Supervisor Special Agent Christopher K. Stangl from FBI Regional Cyber Action Team and New York FBI Office Evidence Response Team was breached using the AtomicReferenceArray vulnerability on Java,” boasts the hacking group.
AntiSec’s archive lists 100,000,001profiles including user names, devices cell phone numbers and addresses. The data was originally picked from Apple iOS devices, namely iPhones, iPads and iPods.
Anonymous and Co. enjoy interfering with the US Federal Investigative Bureau; several arrests in their ranks have only boosted the hactivists’ efforts to that end. The group has even been reported to have eavesdropped on the FBI’s anti-Anonymous meeting.
The group’s cause is to attract users’ attention to the possibility the FBI might be breaking into computers to track them. Exposing hundreds of personal IDs, AntiSec says they seek to make a wider and lingering impression.
“We have learnt it seems quite clear nobody pays attention if you just come and say ‘Hey, FBI is using your device details and info’,” the group posted.
Web discussions following the leak immediately took on a degree of astonishment mingled with anger.
“What’s the FBI doing with over 12 million iPhone user details? Mass tracking & surveillance? Are there no more limits?” Kim Dotcom, a co-founder of the Megaupload resource, told his Twitter followers.
Not all of the stolen data was exposed, though. In the message describing the results of the original lift, AntiSec provides a much longer list of personal details.
“During the shell session some files were downloaded from [Stangl’s] Desktop folder; one of them with the name of ‘NCFTA_iOS_devices_intel.csv’ turned to be a list of 12,367,232 Apple iOS devices, including Unique Device Identifiers (UDID), user names, name of device, type of device, Apple Push Notification Service tokens, zip codes, cell phone numbers, addresses, etc.”

Reply
Donavin Taggart
9/18/2012 04:20:36 am

I dont thinkanything is worth updating the Iphone 5 the only Plus if you need to buy all new chargers and and addapters for every thing its not realy worth it

Reply
Connor Hays
9/18/2012 04:30:13 am

I would say that the new iphone has lots of improvements and faster internet is always good for buisness and entertainment. Is it worth the price of admission though, I would say thats up to the individual, if you have the money and want a reliable smart phone this would be at the top of the list, but then again there are other really good smart phones as well.

Reply
Ryker Cowles
9/19/2012 05:00:29 am

Ha! good for business yet it's so easy to hack and steal all of your information (creditcard #, your contacts, your photos, anything thats on your phone really) for goodness sake a brick(... or even break) is harder to steal info off then a iphone (also includes Ipad, Ipod products... well any apple product that runs off of the IOS crap oprating system... good getting your money back when the FEDS take it :]

Reply
Kayla Martin
9/18/2012 04:30:32 am

Personally I wouldnt buy an iPhone because I hate iPhones. They break way to easy and people I know are having issues with their phones. Besides what can an iPhone do that a normal smart phone cant? People just buy it to be like "oh look at me I have the newest most expensive phone." I wouldnt buy it now anyway there are probley still some little problems that need to be fixed. I think its a waste of money. Our world is slowly killing us all.

Reply
Ryker Cowles
9/19/2012 05:02:06 am

Normal smart phones can actually run flash and java where as Iphone can only run java

Reply
Drew Engle
9/18/2012 04:48:04 am

I think the new IPhone is worth the buy. The old IPhone had a small screen and that was the only thing that I didn’t like about it. The new IPhone though has a bigger screen. Plus it surfs the web faster and is thinner. Thin phones equal light phones. So the new IPhone would be good for someone who stays up late texting. Also a lighter phone would make it easier for some kids to keep their pants up. Haha.

Reply
Ryker Cowles
9/19/2012 05:04:46 am

Yet the Droid RAZER has more power and an even bigger screen then the iphone5 where the iphone 5 with a brand new battery can't last 12Hrs wheres as the Razer which uses a lighter battery, consumes more energy yet last twice as long

Reply
Travis Miller
9/19/2012 04:56:59 am

Personally i would never buy a iphone. Mostly because i have had a droid all my life and i prefer them. . Also all the new changes that make it "better" are pointless and some people wouldnt even know how to use it. Sometimes simple is better than sweet and complicated.

Reply
9/19/2012 04:58:27 am

There is no point in buying this device. It does not have a great improvement what so ever. Also the older chargers and connectors do not work with it. That’s like buying a new computer with no USB ports. Witch I might mention Apple invented the USB ports. Well anyway do not waste your money on this wait until they come out with something that is way better.

Reply
Caleb Engle
9/19/2012 05:01:59 am

I think that the update is definitely worth it. The cameras are more advanced and the screen is larger. It can also display a holographic keyboard for you to type with. The downsides of it would have to be the new charger. You can no longer use your ipod charger to charge your phone.

Reply
Richelle Bell
9/19/2012 05:03:42 am

i thingk the new iphone is cool like everyother ipod product but i woodnt buy it. i pod is not getting too much newer. i thingk thay are just running out of ideas. that seems imposabul but im sure that that is happaning.we need somthing new in the phone world, not more of the same even if it is bigger.

Reply
John-Michael Brunsink
9/20/2012 04:20:05 am

I don’t tend to like Apple products in the first place, but the new iPhone seems to be a step in the right direction. The new size makes it easier to see and to carry, plus it can surf the web much faster than the old models of the iPhone. The new Lightning jack is going to irritate a lot of people because now they will have to get rid of all their old iPhone accessories or buy a converter jack.

Reply
Ryan Carlson
9/21/2012 04:09:15 am

My take on the IPhone 5 might seem a little acute because I do not have a smartphone. However I feel that if you have already own an IPhone 3 or 4 upgrading to the 5 wouldn’t be a big deal. First of all there are very few accessories that make it worth the purchase. It is only faster, taller, and lighter which honestly doesn’t seem like a big deal to me. Second of all, those USB Adapters and Speaker’s you own would be useless with the IPhone 5. Now you have to spend more on new equipment which is a gigantic pain in the butt.

Reply
Stephen Bowles
9/21/2012 04:15:00 am

I personally see no need to get the newest iPhone. The older one still has the same features even if they are slightly better on the newer one. I personally have an older model samsung that is not even a smart phone, and yet it has been more reliable than some smartphones used by my friends. The iPhone may have a few fancy features, but in terms of expense and compatibility, it is hardly necessary for someone to buy, especially when older models are easily sufficient and certainly more compatible.

Reply
Austin Jordan
9/21/2012 04:19:56 am

If people think they need an iPhone just to have an iPhone, they should get one. It is a very nice phone, but because of it being manufactured by Apple, it is also a very expensive phone. I am sure that in a few months a new phone that is probably cheaper and faster than the new iPhone will show up and blow it out of the water. So unless if the new iPhone brings something huge to the table, which I don’t think it will, it will soon be old news. Until they add a new feature, like running flash pages, I will not be very interested.

Reply



Leave a Reply.